About Us

Role of the Committee and Members

The Student Government Process Committee is led by an external Lead Processing Officer (LPO) and is assisted in their work by the Process Manager and five student representatives (including three undergraduate students, one graduate student, and a recent alumni).

The role of the committee is to help establish and administer the process and rules of the vote, determine the eligibility of all groups that present themselves as candidates, and provide resources required to conduct the election.

Meet the Team

Lianne Newman

Process Manager (non-voting)

Lianne is a seasoned student affairs professional and educator. She holds a Bachelor of Business Administration from the University of Guelph and a Master of Education from the University of Toronto. Lianne is experienced in policy development and governance and has most recently worked alongside the Ryerson Communication and Design Society as the Manager of Student Engagement and Development within the Faculty of Communication and Design. Lianne is committed to the student experience and ensuring that programs and opportunities on campus are inclusive and accessible.

Daniel Lis

Politics and Governance

Daniel has been involved in many levels of student government at Ryerson University and is the current president of the Politics and Governance Students’ Association. Daniel has served as Chair (2019), Vice-President Education (2017-18) and Arts representative (2016-17) of the Ryerson Students’ Union; the Vice-President, External of the Ryerson Liberal Arts Society (2016-17); and as Chair of the Ryerson Science Society, Ryerson Engineering Students’ Society and Ryerson Communication and Design Society from 2018-19. Daniel has sat on Ryerson Senate and numerous committees, including the Chancellor Selection Committee. He has been a part of the Ryerson Musical Theatre Company and Oakham Community Theatre.

Zainab Bokhari

Biomedical Sciences

Zainab is the inaugural Vice-President, Academic of the Ryerson University Science Society. She serves on Ryerson University Senate, as a Faculty of Science Undergraduate Senator. In addition to her elected student leadership roles, Zainab volunteers her time as a Trimentor in the university’s Tri-Mentoring Program (TMP) – a program that matches first-year students with upper-year students in order to help incoming students successfully transition into university.

Julia Spagnuolo

Katey Park

Michelle Park

Urban and Regional Planning

Julia is a current student member of Senate elected as an At-Large representative. Julia serves as a member on the following Senate committees: the Academic Governance and Policy Committee, the Appeals Committee, the Policy 46 Committee, and the Annual Nominating Committee.


Katey is the Yeates School of Graduate Studies elected representative for Senate. She has demonstrated her investment to student wellbeing by serving on several university and departmental committees, such as the Scholarly Research and Creative Activity Committee, the Academic Governance and Policy Committee, the Psychology Peer Mentor Program, the Mental Health & Wellbeing Group, and as a CPA Graduate Student Delegate representative in Ottawa. Katey is a lecturer in the Chang School and Continuing Education. She is committed to fostering a supportive learning environment for students.

Retail Management

During Michelle’s time as a student at Ryerson University, she was actively involved in different communities across campus. She was a part of the Housing & Residence Life community as a Residence Advisor and Academic Link. Additionally, Michelle was a member of the Student Initiatives Fund (previously PFACS) committee. Michelle is passionate about student life and was involved with the Ted Rogers Management Conference for more than four years and held the position of Chair in 2017. She served as the Ted Rogers School of Management Director on the Ryerson Students’ Union in 2017. Michelle is a recipient of the Dennis Mock Student Leadership Award which recognizes graduating students who have made outstanding voluntary extracurricular contributions to their school.